Posted on

100 sci fi women #56: Jane

I have been a long reader of science fiction (in case you haven’t guessed) and from early in my science-fiction/fantasy appreciation I read quite a lot of female authors, most of whom were amongst my favourites – Ursula le Guin, Julian May, Anne McCaffrey, CJ Cherryh…. However, of late I have fallen away from female authors and find my science fiction catalogue very male dominated. So, I would like your advice – any recommendations on female science fiction/fantasy – particularly current and contemporary authors – would be very welcome.

Hearteningly, I note that Amazon’s Top 10 science fiction novels for 2010 includes a number of women authors.  But please, recommend away!

So let’s turn to another female author…

Jane  The Silver Metal Lover Tanith Lee

Jane is rich, sixteen and insecure.  She doesn’t have a lot of purpose in her life and lives a life of privilege. She is overwhelmed with passion and love for Silver, a robot who is close to human and, who through his interactions with Jane, becomes closer and closer to human. Jane is willing to give up everything for her love and to face the prejudices of those around her. She has to learn to live in the world without money or privilege, and with a mother who actively tries to stop her. While not always terribly practical, Jane learns to find happiness in little things and in love. When the threat that the relationship and the existence of Silver becomes too much and Silver is taken and destroyed, Jane’s inital reaction demonstrates her despair. She is willing to continue to challenge  those who see her love as threatening. But with time she becomes strong and reflective and learns to live her life, without giving up on her love.

Oh, my love, my love with a soul, my love who’s alive, and out there – somewhere – my love who isn’t an never will be dead. So death for me, in the end, will be like catching a flyer. Floating away…

6 responses to “100 sci fi women #56: Jane

  1. I’m curious what you thought of the Amazon top 10: my sense of it is that it was quite an idiosyncratic list, and one that was really about Jeff Vandermeer (who does their SF stuff)’s personal tastes. Certainly it didn’t bear much resemblance to any of the more conventional lists of the year’s best SF (though that may not be a bad thing). But it’s encouraged me to read the Charles Yu and a couple of the others I’d not heard of.

    • Melissa

      I did think it was a little odd – I don’t think I have read anything on it, which did strike me as a bit weird, and it did seem a bit idiosyncratic. I figure I should now read a couple of the books and see what I think. But yes, a few of the inclusions seemed a long long way from conventional.

  2. Tea Drinker ⋅

    I’d really like to read this.

  3. Tea Drinker ⋅

    Might be able to get it secondhand on Amazon.

  4. There was a bit of a spat a few weeks back about the increasing invisibility of female SF writers, which led to a number of lists of recent SF by women worth reading. One of those lists, and links to some of the debate and other lists was on the Tor site:

    http://www.tor.com/blogs/2010/10/future-classics-best-science-fiction-by-women-written-2001-2010

    I have to confess to not having read any of the women on that list, and to the same unease about how male-dominated the SF I read is Melissa describes. Interestingly there’s a lot of fantastic fantasy by women – Kelly Link, Margo Lanagan etc – but it does feel a bit like the SF field has become even more of a boy’s club than it used to be in recent years.

Leave a Reply

