Posted on

Random irritating sexism or Why Feminism is Still Relevant

So, we are going on a holiday.

I called Qantas and booked the tickets.

I used my Frequent Flyer points to book the tickets.

They were booked using my Frequent Flyer Profile with my email address.

I paid the taxes using my credit card.

I have the superior Frequent Flyer status level.

Yet.

Yet, when the email came confirming the tickets, tickets I had booked using my Frequent Flyer points, using my credit card, using my email address

the email was addressed to my partner.

My male partner.

Why?

Is it because men are still considered more important? Is it because men are still considered to come first in a relationship?

Or perhaps I am just a paranoid feminist.

What do you think?

 

 

 

7 responses to “Random irritating sexism or Why Feminism is Still Relevant

  1. Kitty

    No, you’re not paranoid. That’s happened to me before. It’s the same reason why wait staff will defer to my partner when asking to taste the wine at dinner, when *I’m* the one who knows more about wine. Grrrrr.

  2. Gah gah gah, Melissa! As you well know, I’m with you here. Of course there are even bigger reasons why feminism is still relevant, but these constant little symbolic systemic failures are also easy reminders. Perhaps let the airline know you’re outta there if they don’t learn to address you? Everyone needs teaching sometimes. 😉

    • Melissa

      Absolutely agree there are bigger and more important reasons – but this is just one of those things you can point to and say “Look – Not Equal. Still!”

  3. michelle

    Yes! OMG. I booked plane tickets for Mat and I, paid with my credit card and had the tickets emailed to my address … and the email was addressed to Mat.

  4. luisarusso1@gmail.com ⋅

    This just happened to me too! It is ridiculous!!

Leave a Reply

