Posted on

7 Songs in 7 Days: Duran Duran Careless Memories

As a teenager music was very important to me and Duran Duran was everything. I slept under the giant poster, I cut up magazines and stuck them to my school books and folders, we debated who was our favourite (mine was Simon) and I saved up to buy their cassettes and singles and albums and everything. Duran Duran was the first concert I went to. I was entranced by the glamour of the videos for Rio, I loved the weirdness of the lyrics from Seven and the Ragged Tiger and while there were many bands I loved during the 1980s, none came close to Duran Duran. The best thing though is to find how much I still enjoy listening to their music, how much I shouted lyrics like a teenager when I saw them play again a couple of years ago, and that Simon still looks hot with a microphone in his hand.

Leave a Reply

